Have you considered starting a self defense program, but you’re not sure how long each belt takes or what it includes? Here’s an overview of each rank within Israeli Krav Maga:

Level 1: Yellow Belt — Approved testing after nine months*

Core fundamental expectations** for yellow belt students are as follows (but not limited to):

  • Stance and Footwork

  • Hooks; punches; strikes and kicking

  • Mental preparation and spatial orientation

  • Basic ground survival

  • Basic throws

  • Weapons of opportunity

  • Basic retzev

Level 2: Orange Belt — Approved testing after 24 months

Core fundamental expectations* for orange belt students are as follows (but not limited to):

  • Intermediate hooks; punches; elbows; strikes; kicking and boxing

  • Closing on an opponent

  • Weapon attack defense(s)

  • Submissions and takedowns

  • Intermediate ground survival

  • Intermediate throws

  • Intermediate retzev

Level 3: Green Belt — Approved testing after 36-42 months

Core fundamental expectations* for green belt students are as follows (but not limited to):

  • Advanced hooks; punches; elbows; strikes; kicking; boxing and wrestling

  • Impact weapon attack defense(s)

  • Edged weapon defenses leg range

  • Advanced submissions and takedowns

  • Multiple attackers

  • Head attacks

  • Advanced ground survival

  • Advanced throws

  • Advanced retzev  

Level 4: Blue Belt — Approved testing after 60-66 months

Core fundamental expectations* for blue belt students are as follows (but not limited to):

  • Increased complexity and control with cumulative training

  • Critical ground survival

  • Timing and body defense

  • Law enforcement control holds

  • Edged weapon defenses hand range

  • Full motion defenses   

Level 5: Brown and Black Belt — Approved testing for brown belt 96 months and blackbelt invitation only

Complete understanding of* for brown and black belt students are as follows (but not limited to):

  • More complexity and control of all cumulative training

  • High degree of fighting ability and efficiency

  • Close range techniques

  • Fighting a trained adversary

  • Advanced edged and impact weapon defenses

  • Multiple attackers armed and on the ground

  • High impact mental preparation

  • Firearm defenses

*Testing approval is different for everyone and is highly dependent upon attendance, aptitude, attitude and overall proficiency

**In all circumstances per belt there are (literally) hundreds of additional moves; tactics; mindsets and programming (many of which are the intellectual property of the IKMA) that we insist upon. Shown here is a base foundation for glossary education only. In most all cases of these core fundamentals there’s the defense to each taught per belt rank.

Redbelt — The highest krav maga rank (Grandmaster) currently held by Grandmaster Haim Gidon

Because not all Krav Maga is the same.™ — Nor how it is taught.

Find out more: